What pitch? 3 blade vs. 4?

jbnitro

Recruit
Hello all. I'm new to iboats and thank you all in advance for an assistance you can provide.

I just bought a1989 17 foot nitro fish and ski with a 110 hp johsnon on it. I was told it was slow out of the hole...the first time out I got first hand experience of how bad it is out of the hole. 3 guys, heaviest in front and it wouldn't even get on plane. Frusterating for first time out! I did get it to plane with only two people in boat and when i trimmed up I got to 5,000 RPM. (owners manual says 4,500-5,500 recomended) Currently on the boat is a beat up 17 pitch 3 blade aluminum.

I've done alot of research over the last week as I bought this to fish out of regularly but take my family, 5 people, on it as well. My goal it to get it on plane with more then 2 people.....

My research has told me:

-every 2 degrees down in pitch increases rpm by 300-400
-lower pitch gets more hole shot but reduces top end a little
-4 blade increased hole shot compared to 3 blade with little top end suffering
-4 blade will lower rpm by 50-100 compared to 3 blade of same pitch
-stainless is better

I don't mind giving up top end mainly because that is a mute point if you can't get out of the whole! Here is my thought. Going from 17 pitch to 15 pitch will increase rpm to 5,400 ish with 3 blade. If i go to a 15 pitch 4 blade from what i have (the 17 pitch 3 blade) i will get the increase in rpm to 5,400 ish due to lower pitch but take a little off due to 4 blades vs. 3.....I should have much better hole shot and rpm around the 5,300 ish range. Right? please, feedback is welcome. Thanks a million!

Bamaman1

Lieutenant Commander
Re: What pitch? 3 blade vs. 4?

You've got the basics down pat. Now, go get a 15 pitch aluminum prop and see how the boat goes.

A beat up prop is not doing anything for the boat--or your opinion of the boat. You should have sufficient power for that hull to get up and run.

steelespike

Supreme Mariner