76 OMC 140 Tilt Trim Clicks

jtrombley

Recruit
I recently purchased a boat cheap from a friend that has sat for two years. The tilt trim worked for him two years ago. When I received the boat, the tilt trim would click. I replaced the solenoids today and still have clicking and no up or down movement. Would this mean it has to be the motor itself? As I have no movement or noise whatsoever coming from the motor. When I removed the plate from the outdrive there was water that came out. Is it possible the water worked its way up the motor and gummed it up? Also, is there any tips out there for removal of the motor itself if that is what I need to do. I'm new to mechanical work as I'm in medical school and trying to do this on my own.

southkogs

Staff member
Re: 76 OMC 140 Tilt Trim Clicks

Welcome aboard (almost-a) doc :)

The tilt package on the old OMCs is a booger. They designed an electric motor that essentially sits at the bottom of a dark, damp bilge ... not so bright. Most likely, you need to pull the tilt motor and have it rebuilt - BUT, getting that beast out can be a real pain. Make sure you have a good charge on your battery before you go ahead and pull it. Also, try supporting your stern drive (or removing it completely), taking off the tilt quadrant (big half-moon lookin' gear) and then see if the drive gear turns at all without a load.

I'm not sure which plate you removed (I'm thinking on the clutch pack at the port side of the stern drive), but those do tend to get water filled - empty, and refill with gear lube. Water doesn't' have a good path to get up to the motor from there. There's worm gear that typically survives pretty well in these old systems, and a hammer coupler that seems to have a 50/50 chance boat to boat.