Sierra , Barr, osco manifolds

CaptRon66

Petty Officer 2nd Class
I have to replace the exhaust on a Mercruiser 165(actually a Chevy 250 for engine swap) . I used the old Osco exhaust to get another boat going. Did Osco go out of business or sell to someone else? Which manifolds and risers are better quality? Sierra or Barr?

dan t.

Lieutenant Junior Grade
Re: Sierra , Barr, osco manifolds

All about the same quality,dont use their gaskets,get OEM gaskets, you will be glad 6 months down the road.

90stingray

Lieutenant Junior Grade

I just got a set of manifolds and risers from Osco. Made in USA and very nice quality. I ordered them with the quicksilver gaskets. I have no experience with the other brands but i have been told to steer clear of GLM.

Fishermark

Vice Admiral

I bought a manifold from this company a couple of years ago. Good prices. (Manifold and associated gaskets only $399). If memory serves, it was an Osco manifold. Good quality.

CaptRon66

Petty Officer 2nd Class

Made a phone call to Osco today whose rep informed me they discontinued manufacturing the Mercruiser 165 inline 6 manifold 3 years ago. The link in the last post is a Barr manifold. Not sure if Sierra or Barr is better as far as cracking is concerned. I like the price of the Barr better. Is there any problem using the straight 6 exhaust manifolds with closed cooling applications? Osco still has their old manifold listed even though it is nla. A note on the site says not for use with closed cooling applications. Did it make the manifolds more likely to crack or other issues? The Osco rep did not know. Before his time.

Silly Seville

Senior Chief Petty Officer