1969 johnson 4hp..... WATER in my OIL? Need Help Quick

Hey Guys and Gals,

This is my first time posting on a boat forum, proberley because I just recently purchased my first boat! So I also recieved a 1969 Johnson 4hp 2 stroke. Hasnt been started in 15 years but the hard work is complete.....I think. I got it strated, first replacing the pull cord, 2 spark plugs, and finally sanding down the points which all rewarded me by turning over after a few pulls! I inspected the water pump as directed by a friend that has been boating for years. Rubber looks good but I bought a spare just in case.

My only and final problem is upon inspecting the oil reservoir (near the propeller where you put the gear oil) to check the condition and level of the oil, I noticed that I have a leak resulting in water mixing in. The oil was milky looking and clearly had water mixing in. I was told that I have to replace the seals. So my question to all of you knowledgable guys and gals is How Do I Go About Replacing The Seals?

I'm new to all of this but low on cash so I'm doing all the work myself. I'm good with mechanics so with a little guidence I should be all set to replace the seals.

Thanks for all of your time and any help you can provide me.

feedingfrenzy

rockyrude

Lieutenant Junior Grade
Re: 1969 johnson 4hp..... WATER in my OIL? Need Help Quick

Welcome aboard! If you are mechanically inclined, should not be a big problem. First and foremost, get the OEM service manual for it. You will find all of the procedures to reseal the lower unit. Also, don't guess, if it hasn't been started in a few years even though the rubber "looks good" the water pump impeller is shot, replace it.

Daviet

Fleet Admiral

One thing to try before resealing the lower unit, drain and flush the lower unit and refill with oil. Make sure to replace the seal washers on drain and vent screws, a lot of times the oil gets changed and the seal washers reused. This causes a lot of water in lower unit problems.