Fine Tuning 1956 15hp evinrude Fastwin

bobberii

Seaman Apprentice
I picked this engine up last year and just got around to working on it. Started right up in the test tank after I read starting instructions and turned the small knob wide open instead of at 3 like someone else instructed. Put her in gear and ran her for twenty minutes fine. Now I'm gonna try a lake test and was wondering what I should set the large knob on and what direction to turn it for each condition? I'm new to the old engines and would appreciate any help.

Also I had water spitting out of the weap hole, but also had some dripping out of the top just underneath the engine cowl. Is that normal?

Thanks
Don

bobberii

Seaman Apprentice
Re: Fine Tuning 1956 15hp evinrude Fastwin

Hi bobberii. Great old motor you have there. You should not have any water leaking out under the cowl in any shape form or fashion. Do you have a pic perhaps? Give these links a read to familiarize yourself with your new toy. Holler if you get stuck.

http://www.duckworksmagazine.com/06/columns/max/index6.htm

http://forums.iboats.com/showthread.php?t=167352

Thanks for the links. I will post a picture later this week of the leakage. Actually leaking might be a little overboard it was dripping from an area around the shift lever. I'll try to pin it down and post a pict.

Thanks for all the help.
D

bobberii

Seaman Apprentice

engine 2.jpgengine 1.jpgengine 3.jpg

Pictures aren't that great. I looked at it again and water is leaking out of weap holes that are located on the bottom of the cowling. It increases with the rpm's. I'm assuming that water is going up there to cool the engine and that wherever it is supposed to go that it has sprung a leak. Thought I remembered seeing on a forum somewhere of an o ring somewhere that might allow water to leak up there. Any ideas?

Thanks

lindy46

Captain