How important is power Tilt / Trim?

Bubba1235

No longer on Forums
I'm looking to repower a 30' tritoon with something in the 150 HP range. Trying to buy used (budget minded) and I've found several O/B engines that might do the job but many do not have power tilt / trim. On a ski boat I'd say tilt / trim is all but mandatory but I wonder if thet is true for such a large toon. I'm wondering if the legth and over all size of the toom sort of minimizes the need for power tilt / trim once I find the sweet spot with the manual adjustments.

Love to hear thoughts on it! (Toon newbie here.)

lncoop

Vice Admiral
Re: How important is power Tilt / Trim?

Disclaimer: My barge is only a 21 footer. That said, I can't imagine not being able to adjust the motor. Bubba, when you start tooning you'll find that people constantly move around, and the ability to compensate for more weight in the front or back of the boat at any given moment is very useful. Also, when beaching I'll goose it a little then kill the motor and raise it so it doesn't suck in a bunch of sand and ruin the impeller. Since we're talking about a thirty footer I'll assume water sports won't be a priority, so I won't get into that. Glad to hear you've finally seen the light.:p

coastalrichard

Lieutenant

Bubba, call me spoiled, but I simply can't imagine no PTT. Having said that, I will also say that at 30', your motor is going to be a long way from shore should you beach it. Let me ask where you will be using your toon...bays, lakes, rivers?

newbie4life

Chief Petty Officer

I have a 20' or so... I have a 40 hp yamaha on it, and it did not come with power trim/tilt. I used it in the fall and it worked fine.