Help on installing Gasket

markakapops

Recruit
I have Eska 5 hp . I need to replace the Gear housing Cap gasket. (this nomenclature is taken right out of the manual.

part 190074-02 housing, Gear

part 26363-02 Cap.

Part 26364 Gasket.

The Gasket is what I am replacing , the challange is I have never done this before. I assume you have to make sure you clean off all of the remains of the previous gasket but you dont want to scratch the metal, so i am thinking emery cloth?

Do I clue the gasket in place, and if so what type of glue?

Thank you for your help
Mark

MahtyMaht

Chief Petty Officer
Re: Help on installing Gasket

I have used a big fat putty knife, big enough to span the whole thing. I have also used a flat file, but you want to be careful with that, because it will remove metal. I don't like emery, because it will rain abrasive into the gears, and we don't need any of that. You don't need a sealant, there, but it's not going to hurt if you do, just don't apply it so heavily that it squeezes globs into the gear box.

sutor623

Rear Admiral

Yes I would definately put on a little bit of permetex. I have had issues in some cases when not putting in on the gasket surface. I like to use acetone to clean up mating surfaces from old gasket and oil. If you need to get out the ultra fine wet/dry sandpaper you can. This helps to keep file dust from going all over the place. I also put a plastic bag down inside gear case or cylinders when I do this just to be sure nothing makes its way down there.

robert graham

Admiral

On my 3HP Tanaka I quit using those gaskets years ago, just clean the metal surfaces good and run a thin bead of black Silicone Rubber Gasket Sealer around it and bolt it together...works fine, so far.

sutor623

Rear Admiral

On my 3HP Tanaka I quit using those gaskets years ago, just clean the metal surfaces good and run a thin bead of black Silicone Rubber Gasket Sealer around it and bolt it together...works fine, so far.