What type of anchor and chain or rope

Metabo

Cadet
As I'm relatively new to this type of boat, I have a few questions about anchors and chain versus rope.

I will be using this boat on the St Croix river in WI and also the Mississippi. I plan on staying over night on the boat from time to time and was wondering what type of anchor and what size rope I should use with this boat.

1977 Sea Ray SRV 220 Overhighter

Metabo

Attachments

• 1977 hard top 1.jpg
    1977 hard top 1.jpg
    54.6 KB · Views: 0
  • 1977 hard top 2.jpg
    1977 hard top 2.jpg
    57.9 KB · Views: 0
  • 1977 hard top 3.jpg
    1977 hard top 3.jpg
    42.3 KB · Views: 0
  • 1977 hard top 4.jpg
    1977 hard top 4.jpg
    53.3 KB · Views: 0
  • Original Brochure.pdf
    330.8 KB · Views: 1

coastalrichard

Lieutenant
Re: What type of anchor and chain or rope

Metabo, for a boat your size and weight, I would think something at least 15#-19# would suffice. Probably a hooker style that will catch the muddy bottoms where you'll be. As for the chain, at least ten feet of 5/16". The rope should be at least 1/2" (I prefer braided) to 5/8". Get enough rope to allow a rode of 7x your average depth. You ought to consider a second stern anchor for those times you need to overcome current and the constant back and forth caused by the wind. Good Luck!

Metabo

Cadet

Thanks for the info Rich

Metabo

Metabo

Cadet

So, the chain would hook to the anchor and then the rope to the chain? Do I really need chain? Don't want to mark up the boat when dropping the anchor.

Metabo

coastalrichard

Lieutenant

Anchor, chain then rope. The chain is, perhaps, the MOST important part of the mix...it lays flat allowing the anchor flukes to dig into the bottom (the rope tends to float toward the surface). With no chain, you might just as well throw out a mushroom and get drug around by the currents and winds. As far as marking up the boat, Elmer Fudd would say...be vewy, vewy careful:eek:

Metabo

Cadet