Thinking about buying a 2002 SugarSands Sole. Should I get a jetboat or prop??

Status
Not open for further replies.

yepthatsme

Recruit
I'm thinking about buying a 2002 SugarSands Sole. It is a jetboat, which is something I have no experience with. Is there anything I should know about jetboats or that SugarSands model for that matter? I do know the basics, i.e., jet boats aren't as efficient as prop boats, Sugar Sands is out of business etc. It is a 2002 with a V6 240HP mercury sport jet engine. My main questions are:
1.) Is this a reliable engine?
2.) How is this engine on gas?
3.) Will this engine be powerful enough with 1300lbs on board (that is the weight limit)?
4.) Is the Sole a good boat with a solid reputation?
5.) Anything I should take into consideration when contemplating this purchase?

It appears a lot of people are strongly against jetboats and I am trying to figure out why. Thank you in advance :)

Ernest MacEnroy

90stingray

Lieutenant Junior Grade
Re: Thinking about buying a 2002 SugarSands Sole. Should I get a jetboat or prop??

Is that a Merc OB, that is mounted inboard? If so, it would be the same drive as my uncles seadoo... and he hates the combo. Seadoo wont work on in since its a Merc engine/drive. Also, his boat will porpise BAD at 35-55mph in glass water. Could be the hull, but he thinks its the engine/drive combo. He wants to sell for a twin engine jet setup. But it does have tons of power and scoots around really well. You will have fun learning how to manuver the jet with the reverse diverter :)

H20Rat

Vice Admiral
Re: Thinking about buying a 2002 SugarSands Sole. Should I get a jetboat or prop??

I've had numerous sugar sands, currently have a tango. (the sole's slightly more demented little brother, a 16.5 foot boat with up to 240 hp hanging on the back.)