1974 merc 85hp does is it suppose to charge the deep cycle batterys

arthur1988

Cadet
im wondering if the motor charges the battery or is it different than a cars charging system cause asoon as i take the posative cable off the battery it turns off any help would be helpfull thxs

jerryjerry05

Supreme Mariner
Re: 1974 merc 85hp does is it suppose to charge the deep cycle batterys

Shoud include serial#/model etc!
It should charge any battery.
Sounds like the rectifier is shot.
When I was a newbie (1983)I bought a used boat.
I hooked up the battery cables backwards and blew the rectifier and it wouldn't charge.

Chris1956

Supreme Mariner

If that motor has a distributor, it will have battery driven ignition. You can ruin the ignition and rectifier by disconnecting the battery when the motor is running. Ignition parts are hundreds of dollars to replace.

The stator and rectifier combo should charge the battery. However, the rectifiers generally break when the battery cables are disconnected when the motor is running or connected backwards.

Georgesalmon

Lieutenant Commander

Although I didn't disconnect my battery while running the engine. I might have if there was not a warning on the motor. I recently used this forum to learn about and fix a problem with my motor and ended up replacing the rectifyer with a rect/regulator with much success. Anyway, if you fried your rectifyer I might have a good used one for you. Don't know if a 79 1/2 115hp merc is the same but if it is you can have this one for the cost of postage. I'll never use it.

Chris1956

Supreme Mariner

George, Your old stock rectifier is the same function as his. His will be the older larger style, but yours will work fine.

BTW - I actually replaced my stock Merc rectifer with a 25A full wave rectifer from Radio Shack. They are less than $5 and never burn out.

arthur1988

Cadet

i mean the motor runs great just drains the battery should
it be able to run stereo and some other little things ??