four banger volvo wont start up and run

Trying to get this thing up and running and back to how it was two decades ago isnt easy and i've used this forum plenty before registering so i know i will probably get some very useful info. This deck boat is an 89 deck boat with a 4 cylinder. I have no clue what actual model it is becuase the previous owner switched the motor out and is no longer around to let me know. I bought it from my cousins neighbor who inherited it when his dad passed. I am a car mechanic with about 10 years experience so i have checked everything i can think of before asking for direction. The head was JUST rebuilt with all new parts (still very clean aluminum when looking in from the oil fill cap), the timing is dead on the money, compression is good, distributor cap is new, rotor is new(im not sure what the boating world calls them but on cars its called a rotor inside the distributor), plugs are brand new volvo plugs, wires are so-so but are firing because i checked with an inline spark tester. I can dump gas in the carb and it attempted to fire a couple times but never busted off. My gas tank is full of NASTY old gas and im in the process of cleaning it out to reinstall which is why i have to dump the gas in the carb. My question is, if the motor has sat unstarted for at least a year could it just be that it takes an unusual amount of time to bust off or is there something anyone can recommend for me to check that i have overlooked? Any help would be great!!

dennis461

Chief Petty Officer
Re: four banger volvo wont start up and run

Dude, open up the carb and look for corrosion, dirt, and nasty old gas.

i took apart the top of it today. the bowl has very little sludge in it which i am going to clean out wednesday when im out there again. my biggest confusion about that is i wasnt even really using the carb except for air because i was dumping gas directly in the carb. it was my original thought also though.

Don S

Honorary Moderator Emeritus