Evinrude Sportwin 9.5 First time Owner. Please Help.

I bought my first boat ever last week and it came equipped with an Evinrude Sportwin 9.5. I've had it out twice now. I know I need a new kill switch but what else should I do for upkeep. I am brand new at this and clueless. Thanks!

Daviet

Fleet Admiral
Re: Evinrude Sportwin 9.5 First time Owner. Please Help.

Make sure to use fresh gas, proper oil mixture, 50;1.
Make sure the lower unit is full of oil, no water.
Make sure to keep an eye on the cooling system, if not sure when the pump was replaced, replace it.
Check the plugs every once and a while, keep them in good shape and clean.
Repair as necessary.

jbjennings

Captain

Put a brand new pull cord on it. If the rope breaks, it will probably break the recoil spring. If I recall, some of those springs are $85 new---can't remember if your model has the high dollar spring. I'd replace the fuel lines with alcohol resistant ones, and the stuff mentioned in the last post. I'd also rock the powerhead back and forth and see how much slack is in the mounts. THere should be some, but if it's really sloppy you probably have a bad motor mount.
Just some ideas,
JBJ

Rick.

Captain

Great advice above. Regarding the kill switch if it isn't working I've pulled the rubber off and cleaned the contacts and all is well. If that doesn't work consider a sea dog lanyard kill switch replacement. Fits the same hole. Best of luck. Rick.

Thanks Everyone! I purchased the Sea-Dog Universal Kill Switch and it should be here today. Anyone have some simple tips for wiring it?

jbjennings

Captain