The axle on my light trailer is completely rusted ( w/ pics)... what are my options?

Bigkat650

Petty Officer 2nd Class
Ok, so I bought a 14ft aluminum boat in the fall of last year (1959 Alumacraft FDR), and this trailer came with it. All I know about the trailer is that its from the same era as the boat. The trailer is a little rough, but certainly solid--except the axle. As you can see in the pictures below, the axle is rusted to the point where I believe it is unsalvageable.

Trailer04.jpgTrailer05.jpgTrailer06.jpg

The axle appears to be a combination of a squared tube with rounded corners over an "I" beam turned on its side (I am NOT an expert in this area, i'm just describing what it looks like:facepalm:). As you can see, the passenger side of what I am calling the 'squared tube' has suffered extensive rusting--to the point where half of it is missing, and there is a gap on one of the corners where the axle attaches to the springs. Basically, my assumption is it is not safe to use the trailer as it currently is. (right?)

Basically I need to know the most cost effective way to make this safe. I am not concerned with ascetics at all, I am looking to keep it simple, inexpensive, functional, and above all--safe. Luckily, my boat's total weight including motor is only about 500-600lbs.

I did take some crude measurements (wasn't even sure what to measure... again:facepalm:), but the length from the outside of the left spring to the outside of the right spring is 42", and the length between the wheel hubs is 47".

Can I use a simple replacement like this?? http://www.easternmarine.com/49-square-galvanized-trailer-axle-1200-lb-46032

Any help that you folks can give would be great. I can take any photo's or measurements that you think may help and post them here. THANKS!! :D:D:D

bonz_d

Vice Admiral
Re: The axle on my light trailer is completely rusted ( w/ pics)... what are my optio