i just got my boat home and started tinkering

finx

Petty Officer 2nd Class
My new project is home and I need some help identifying this outdrive. I know its a mercruiser. I'm very new at this.

The engine and outdrive looks extremely bad. is this recoverable? everything turns over and looks like it's in bad shape. thanks!

1.jpg2.jpg3.jpg4.jpg5.jpg

finx

Petty Officer 2nd Class
Re: i just got my boat home and started tinkering

could I use this on the yokes?

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=wV1wicul400

My yokes can either be sand blasted or wire brushed. they're rusted pretty bad. They still turn. Any thoughts? I would like to save them as they cost 800 bucks new.

Bondo

Staff member

could I use this on the yokes?

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=wV1wicul400

My yokes can either be sand blasted or wire brushed. they're rusted pretty bad. They still turn. Any thoughts? I would like to save them as they cost 800 bucks new.

Ayuh,... It appears you have a very early model MC-1 drive, 'n a 2.5l or 3.0l motor....
Whether they'll live again, or not is yer to be seen... atleast you can get parts for 'em....

That rust removal thing for the yokes is a Waste,...
The outside of the yokes are irrelevant,... In internal workin' surfaces are what counts...

rickryder

Commander

Looks like your in for a complete resto on that! When ya get done figuring out the motor and drive start a post in the resto section on getting the hull in order ;) Good luck!

finx

Petty Officer 2nd Class

im taking the motor out and going to restore it in my garage as its in need of tlc also. This motor was out of a truck. the original mercruiser engine seized and he had it replaced with this one. Other than a longer dipstick to remove the oil, is there any other differences that i need to check to make sure it will work? Thanks!

Bondo

Staff member