What am I getting into?

lee33lyn

Recruit
I'd like to get a boat to enjoy with the family. I guy I work around has a 1998 Bayliner Capri. It's really cheap but the floor was soft under the carpet. I didn't pull the carpet back. I'm pretty handy but don't have alot of free time to spend working on a boat for week on end. What is involed in replacing the flooring in this type of boat. Or, should I run away!
thanks in advance!
Lee

oops!

Supreme Mariner
Re: What am I getting into?

hi....welcome to iboats !

if you dont have tome to work on it dont buy it.

the soft floor will take a first timer a minimum of 80 hours to replace....this includes replacing the foam that will be wet.

lee33lyn

Recruit

What kind of material cost? 80 hours of work would take me a couple of months at least.

Tthomp3

Petty Officer 1st Class

It will take you more than a couple of months. Im a complete newbie and listened to these guys advice. I work on my boat everyday for an hour or more( most of the time a lot more) and I'm on month three

74bayliner

Chief Petty Officer

it would truly be easier for us to complete the work in no time if we had a bazillion dollars.. as for cost lee, your looking at probably 1000-2000 in supplies... i started my boat project thinking it would take a couple hundred bucks and i would be set... well im at about 3000 total... and thats just in engine/outdrive/trailer repairs! yes mistakes where made along the way but life is not life without mistakes

BonairII

Commander

Pass on the boat. Having to restore your very first boat is not the way to go.

oops!

Supreme Mariner

What kind of material cost? 80 hours of work would take me a couple of months at least.

for the deck alone......200 bux worth of wood....

40 yards of matt and cloth....150 ish.

10 gals of resin to be safe.....250.

im also guessing that you need to need to repalce the foam......that is around another 300

tri-hull guy

Seaman