Any final tips or ideas before I replace this motor?

John2037

Petty Officer 3rd Class
I am a pretty good mechanic and I like to do the job right, the first time - this motor has stumped me!

1998 3.0 Volvo Penta GSMBY
Penta Cobra SX OD

Started with water in the oil - pulled the motor, discovered a mess of problems (bad riser, hacked exhaust smashed into the bellows, wrong fw) fixed it all, even new head bolts. Ran perfect in the driveway, ran perfect on a 2 hour test run, shut it off at the docks and when I tried to start it again it made a awful noise, I think its a main bearing but it goes away and runs great just after a couple seconds, but thats a problem for later. Checked oil - fine, pulled it out to take it home to do a valve adjustment and the oil now shows a hint of water, WTH.

Before I burn my savings buying a new motor, I would like to find out how the water is getting into the system, be it the motor or something else - is there any way water can get into the oil other than cracked block/head/exhaust ie. back up the exhaust while towing( i don't think so but ???) or condensation? I plan on blocking off the riser with a plate to test the system for leaks, but all they tells you is there is a leak not whether it's the head, intake, or block... :confused:Not expecting a 100% solution but any ideas or comments for this newb will help!

I have changed the head gasket, new riser(w/ gaskets and resistor) new exhaust, new bellows, new belts, new ignition system, new starter, new sea water pump, new intake gasket, new thermostat (w/ gasket), new flywheel... and thats just what I remember

Re: Any final tips or ideas before I replace this motor?