1984 75hp mecury wont pump water

mcgrawver

Cadet
Motor sat for 8 years without being started. I replaced the water pump impellar but it still wont pump water. Is there a thermostat that could be not working? I know this may be a dumb question but Im new to working on outboards. Any feedback would be helpful, Thanks

CharlieB

Vice Admiral
Re: 1984 75hp mecury wont pump water

Are you SURE the impeller key stayed in place as you slid the impeller down onto it?

And that the water transfer tube slid into place in the water pump as you raised the lower unit back up?

mcgrawver

Cadet

I removed the lower unit today to double check, and the impellar key was where it should be and it appeared that the transfer tube had been connected because the plastic fiitting from the end of the copper pipe pulled off and was still in the impeller housing. It seems like its trying to pump because when i start it, water comes out of vents directly above the lower unit, but not out of the pee hole. Its almostlike the transfer tube could be clogged or something, but im not sure what to do about it. Thanks for your reply and help

BonairII

Commander

Did you have water flow just before you replaced the impeller? If so, you prob assembled something incorrectly. Check to make sure impeller vanes are going the correct way.

if you didn't have water flow before the impeller was changed then you need to run water into the plumbing in the leg and see if you have a blockage.

To test the t-stat, pull it and put it in hot water...should start to open at 140 degrees(or whatever temp your t-stat is rated for)

mcgrawver

Cadet

It wasnt pumping when i first got it started, so i changed the impeller. Im almost positive I have everything installed correctly. Today I will put a hose to the transfer tube to see if it is clogged, thanks for the idea. Where is the thermostat located on the outboard? I cant find it on any diagrams or online parts searches

mercuk

Petty Officer 2nd Class