When changing water impeller do I HAVE to drain the lower unit??

michaud500

Petty Officer 3rd Class
I have a 1969 50hp mercury. I want to go through the water pump and change the impeller. Do I have to drain the lower unit, I have just changed it out and see no reason to do so.

Thanks for the help!!

dOb

Petty Officer 1st Class
Re: When changing water impeller do I HAVE to drain the lower unit??

I'm no expert, but i think I can handle this one. The answer is no. You don't need to drain LU to change the impeller. I have a 1974 50hp and I've been chasing an overheating issue lately. I've had the LU off several times recently without draining anything. Just remove the water pump cover and change the impeller.

michaud500

Petty Officer 3rd Class

Thanks !! Sometimes its the little questions.

MOXIEBOY

Cadet

I assume this is just for your particular motor. I don't see how I can change the impeller without draining lower unit oil on a 1984 Mercruiser 140.

Mi duckdown

Commander

They all the same. been that way forever.

Fishsqueezer

Cadet

I'm curious to know, did you get advice to drain the lower unit from a Clymer manual? I have a Clymer manual for my engine (1984 50 hp Mariner) and it says to drain before removal, but the OEM service manual produced by Mercury does not say to drain. I did the impeller swap just recently without draining and had no problems. I'm not an expert and can't say for sure, but I'd venture to guess that your engine is similar and okay to remove without draining.

michaud500

Petty Officer 3rd Class

No I dont have a Clymer manual. I just thought that one up, I saw no reason to drain the LU. This forum rocks teh guys really know what they are doing!

carholme

Rear Admiral

Fishsqueezer:

I think if you double check your Clymer manual, it says to withdraw the gearbox from the housing and then drain the oil. It does not say you have to drain the oil for gearbox removal.

Remove stud nut from location
(3), and stud nut (5) if so