Starcraft Starchief rebuild

Snapset

Recruit
First, an introduction. I am an Electrician/Process Control Instructor by trade. I live in western Oregon, and for the last 40 years or so, I have loved to fish.

My boat building experience is limited to a cedar strip canoe I built and a 1979 Apollo with volvo Penta I/O restore. The Apollo turned out to be a good boat, but not quite as big as I needed it to be for ocean excursions. So I sold it. My fishing boat for a long time has been a big glass drift boat with a 10 hp kicker. It does about 75% of the things I would like it to do.

In the last year , I got my first grandchild, and another is on the way, so I wanted a boat that would give the Mothers and kids in my life a comfortable place to get out of the weather.
I like the combination of economy-of-purchase/economy-of-use the Starcraft rebuilders offer, so for the last six months I have been shopping and last week I found one.

Ultimately, I want to end up with a fully customized 22' Islander. Until I have that one ready, I will start practice on this one, fish it for a couple years and pass it on to someone who needs a fishing boat.

What I got was this:

2012-04-06 19.41.21.jpg2012-04-06 19.42.14.jpg2012-04-06 19.42.52.jpg2012-04-06 19.43.35.jpg2012-04-06 19.53.01.jpg

I appreciate all those who have documented their projects here on Iboats, I have learned a lot and I hope to reciprocate.

I plan to replace all of the wood aft of and including the bulkhead, making the most efficient possible use of the available space. The forward seat bases will be tackle storage. Aft jump seats will fold up to make room for netting when not in use.

Bow hatch cover will be replaced with wood. Canvas top will be replaced. Complete rewire with batteries paced as far forward as is safe. LED lights under rails and covers, I really love the look I have seen in some of your boats.