40hp overheated and other issues

mthompson220

Cadet
The motor is a 1990-96 ish, (cant get a full SN# off the tag XX267832) 40hp oil injected 4clyinder 2 cycle outboard.

We were out for the first time the other day in a pontoon that I just bought. we were idling near shore when an alarm started sounding. Now bear with me because I am new to anything larger than 10hp, and never heard an alarm on a boat before. I thought that it was something stupid like a low voltage alarm or something like that because it was coming from the dash and the wiring on this thing is a joke. (I later realize that this was not the case) :facepalm:

To make a long story short, as we pulled away I notices smoke coming out of the engine. I realized that no water was cycling through, so I shut it down. It was probably like that for about 4-5 min. I let it cool, raised it to check for blockage and started back up once the alarm stopped.
It was running fine for a few minutes until it seemed to miss a couple times and then it would only hit about 3000 rpm, about half power. So I shut it down again, and this time I had a hard time re-starting it. I limped it back to the dock and loaded up.

I have read that some motors have a "SLOW" run feature in the event of overheating, but how do you reset this if that is the case.

I inspected the spark plugs and they don't look burnt, and externally everything looks fine. There is a bit of 2cycle oil on the carbs, and I wonder if that is what is causing the starting issue. But I have no idea how it got there.

Any help or advise is greatly appreciated.

Thanks

hotrod53

Chief Petty Officer
Re: 40hp overheated and other issues