My first boat

jtbryant

Recruit
Ok, posted this and lost it somehow. I am looking for a boat, and I am completely new to boating. I have been on boats, fishing skiing etc. but that's about the extent of my experience. My kids are growing up, and getting ready to leave for college, so we are taking a lot more trips. I love to fish, my son loves to fish, daughter enjoys fishing/lounging, and my wife does too.

I know I need a used boat, but what kind? Here in South Mississippi I have access to the Gulf, lots of rivers, lakes, ponds etc. What kind of boat could get in a large pond, and also in the gulf (not too far out). I know I won't find something that does everything, but the biggest thing is something to relax in and fish/have adventures. Would love to take the family shrimping or something, but the lake nearby would be where we are the most.

Ideas? Is it better to buy a new boat and have to recarpet and fix up, or an older boat that has been well maintained?

Thanks,
jtbryant

southkogs

Staff member
Re: My first boat

Welcome aboard JT.

How big of a "pond?" A boat that will handle the gulf and one that will fit in (what I consider) a pond are opposite ends of the spectrum.

The Rooster

Ensign

Welcome to the forum "JT". Might consider a "Toon" in the 20' - 24' range. Great all around rig. Good luck !!!

tpenfield

Staff member

Welcome to iBoats . . .

I would recommend a boater safety course for you and perhaps other members of the family since the kids are older. You will learn a lot about boating and proper procedures and safety. Boating is dangerous, as well as fun.

You should also start looking at boats and talk to people. You will learn something about boats with each one. We can provide some knowledge, but nothing beats real-life, first hand experience.