Polyurethane Spray Foam in Aluminum Hull

mike2003mdm

Recruit
Hi All,

New to the forum as of today.

Here is my situation. I have a 40' house cruiser with an aluminum hull and fibreglsss superstructure. I have gutted the interior right down to the bare aluminum and glass. This boat is 40 years old and the hull is in incredible shape. it was built to commercial specs using 1/4" alum plate and huge inverted U shaped longtitudanal stringers. There is some old styrofoam insulation still glued to the lum that I have yet to scrape off.

I am completely refitting this boat as a year round liveaboard. Being in Toronto, we get some pretty cold winter nights so thermal insulation is important, but more importantly, I need to create an air and moisture barrier between the inside, and the outside. As a former contractor, I am well aware of the problems of condensation in poorly sealed residential construction.

I would like to spray foam the hull with closed cell polyurethane from the cabin sole up to the the superstructure and then spray in a fire retardant barrier. I have priced this out at about $1,200.00 which isn't cheap, but it is a lot easier than trying to fit panels of any kind.

I have read a lot about spray foam in boats and there seems to be so many contradictory opinions. The concerns I have noted are:

1. Fire hazzard
2. Trying to work on / make changes to the hull after it has been foamed
3. Blowing up the boat or setting it on fire by welding after the foam is applied (not good)
4. Corrosion of the aluminum
5. Trapping water