Volvo 125 AQ idles fine, dies when put in gear, any suggestions?

PastorChad

Cadet
I have a 1985 Bayliner Capri with Volvo Penta 125 AQ 270 I/O. I can start the engine fine. It idles in neutral fine. I can manually give it gas while in neutral and engine revs fine. When I put it in gear, engine dies. Any suggestions?
Thanks
Pastor Chad

sutor623

Rear Admiral
Re: Volvo 125 AQ idles fine, dies when put in gear, any suggestions?

I have a 1985 Bayliner Capri with Volvo Penta 125 AQ 270 I/O. I can start the engine fine. It idles in neutral fine. I can manually give it gas while in neutral and engine revs fine. When I put it in gear, engine dies. Any suggestions?
Thanks
Pastor Chad

I have NO experience on inboards, but with an outboard when it does this the idle (low speed jet) needs to be richened up. If you have a low speed idle screw back it out 1/2 turn and then try it. When the load gets placed on the motor it alters the fuel requirements. When adjusting the carbs on any motor I have worked on, you need to do it while the motor is in forward gear at idle, in the water (or a test tank/bucket.)

zoeygrace

Recruit

If you have a fuel cell with two stage pumps it could be the low stage pump. When you rev up the high stage pump kicks in and it is fine.

sutor623

Rear Admiral

If you have a fuel cell with two stage pumps it could be the low stage pump. When you rev up the high stage pump kicks in and it is fine.

Ok so these motors use stage fuel pumps vs. carb jets?

PastorChad

Cadet

Ok so these motors use stage fuel pumps vs. carb jets?

Thanks for the advice. It has a fuel pump. I did try to make some adjustments to the fuel mixture but must admit I really dont know what I'm doing. I know which screws can be adjusted to have affect on it. I tried some different combos to no avail. but if yall think thats it I will certainly try again.

Keep the tips coming. I really appreciate it.

zoeygrace

Recruit