Transom / Floor question

starcrazy

Petty Officer 3rd Class
Like many others here on this site, this is my first time restoring a boat, and like everyone else, I have done my research and I would like to thank everyone for posting up there restos, tips and hints. This site has endless amount of knowledge, it's awesome.

So here is my question

Marine Grade plywood VS the arauco plywood with the resin epoxy method.

Is it just easier and less work to puchase the marine grade plywood, rather than go thru all the work and time to epoxy, the arauco plywood.

For instance, my project will require the following:

6 sheets of 1/2" and 1 sheet of 3/4"

Using Marine Grade - total of $370 plus taxes.

Using Arauco plywood and resin - total of $162 + taxes (plywood), Epoxy - West coast system - guessing it would use 2 or 3 gallons @ $100 a gallon. For a range from $260 to $360 plus or minus using the Arauco plywood and Epoxy.

Also, wouldn't the Marine grade be denser and stronger in itself for the transom VS the Arauco and epoxy board.

So basically, I was wondering if I was missing something.

All thought and opinions appreciated, thanks in advance ...:rolleyes:

Wayne

kfa4303

Banned
Re: Transom / Floor question