repair or replace prop with minor damage?

jb203495

Cadet
IMG00072-20111021-1228.jpg

Last fall I purchased a new black max prop for my boat. Second time out with it, i ran over something and caused minor damage. I am attaching a picture of the damage. The outboard (2004 merc. xr6 150) still ran great with the damage prop and I felt no vibration. Should I file the edges smooth and continue to use or buy another prop? i am new at boat ownership so any help would be great. Thanks

robert graham

Admiral
Re: repair or replace prop with minor damage?

You can keep running it like it is, have it repaired at a prop repair shop, or buy a new prop and keep this one for a spare. If it's running fine without vibration, maybe just leave it alone and go boating! Good Luck!;)

Barnacle_Bill

Admiral

You may not feel any vibrations but I bet your lower unit does and this is hard on seals. Take it to a prop shop and they can make it like new.

robert graham

Admiral

You may not feel any vibrations but I bet your lower unit does and this is hard on seals. Take it to a prop shop and they can make it like new.
Probably good advice!...

TilliamWe

Banned

Yeah, if just that one blade is damaged, there's enough material missing that you should have that repaired. No need to replace it. that prop is "easily" repairable. Just check the repair price first. Around here, guys charge way more to repair them than they should. That shouldn't be more than a $50 repair, if the shop's being fair. Cause he;ll have that thing fixed in 20 minutes.

jb203495

Cadet

I may get another prop and use this one as a spare. My current prop is 15"/17degrees. I can get a pretty good deal on a stainless steel prop at Cabellas and using a gift card, won't end up paying a lot for it. They have a Cabellas brand that is 14.25"/17 pitch. Will this be an acceptable replacement size (only 3/4" difference)? Also has any one had experience with cabellas brand prop?

R Socey

Chief Petty Officer