1976 Evinrude 9.9 help!

tanuki

Petty Officer 2nd Class
I am a rookie at this. Inherited an old Starcraft 14? tinny, a trailer, and a 1976 Evinrude 9.9. I have rebuilt the trailer, am in the process of ?fixing up? the boat. While I am waiting for warmer weather here in NJ, I started looking at the motor. These items have sat for about 12 years. Anyway I took compression reading of both cylinders (cold) top was 30, and bottom was 25 after I sprayed some lubricant into the spark plug openings.
I have been to the ?LeeRoy?s ramblings? web site (as most members refer me to) when there are questions about 9.9 Evinrudes. He states that the compression should not be under 60, but does not state if engine is cold. This motor will not start (it has been over 12 years!) and I have noticed that I?m getting spark from only the bottom cylinder. But before I buy coils, a carb rebuild. water pump etc. I need some input from the iboats guys as what they would do in my situation?. Look for another used Evinrude 9.9 (use this one for parts), buy something newer used, or look for a new motor? As a new one goes, I will be using this set-up in salt water in a bay in New Jersey for crabbing and fishing. Money is tight, and if I did do new I would probably lean toward a Tohatsu 9.8 (oh, the horror!) for the most bang for the buck. Any thoughts or suggestions would be very much appreciated. I have time, money is another story .

nwcove

Admiral
Re: 1976 Evinrude 9.9 help!

those compression numbers are BAD, set the motor with the plug holes up, and spray it with penetrating oil , let it set for a few days, best case is stuck rings. other than that you have a parts motor.

bktheking

Vice Admiral

Those powerheads are easy to rebuild, pull it apart, measure spec. If the block is useable hone and rering it. As for spark probably dirty points or possibly a bad condensor. And yes, i'm alive.

kbait

Commander

Nice to hear from ya bk!