New boat project for a boat newbie

Nightblade

Cadet
Greetings,

Im new to the whole boat restoration thing, and my girlfriend and I just got a 1976 Chrysler 16' Funster the boat appears to be in decent shape for its age. My GF has painted several cars before and she wants to repaint the boat as the finish is worn off.

LINK to eBay has a bunch of pics

Also the decking is shot and looks much worse than the pictures show, so I plan on replacing that. Seemed much easier last Thursday than now, after I've read a lot, DOH!

As of today, I have purchased lumber to make 2 outboard stands, and I plan on starting them tomorrow, as the Mercury 800 needs to come off and I figured I'd make one for the 1973 Evinrude 40 hp I just picked up yesterday.

Jen is going to tackle the Upholstery and Painting, while I take on the decking.

Question 1: Has anyone used the RustOleum Marine Coatings before, as we were thinking of repainting both the topside and the hull?

Question 2: Can you use Bondo on boats to fill some minor spots?

Well tonight we removed the front cushions and some carpet and the floor is plywood covered with a layer of fiberglass and is rotted in 2 major spots. Tomorrow night will be carpet removing joy. I'll post some pics tomorrow night

Thanks,

tpenfield

Staff member
Re: New boat project for a boat newbie

If your GF has painted cars, then I would recommend Awlgrip as a hull and topside coat. It will look like fiberglass and not like paint, and probably last until the next millennium.

I'm not sure about the Bondo, but we have a member here named Bond-o, so he can comment on that. For minor dings and such, you should use gelcoat rather than an automotive product.

There are lots of folks here that do restoration and can advise on the plywood and structural stuff. Also, lots of project threads to see what others have done.

proshadetree

Lieutenant Commander