1989 merc force spark loss

rainman01

Cadet
I have a 1989 Bayliner Capri with a 50hp Force on it. It occcassionaly will completely lose spark to both cylinders. Sometimes you shut her off and it just wont start. Grounding out the plug wires shows no spark. Sometimes it will start if I "jump" the solenoid, but not always. I AM NOT a motorhead, and am working for a living so can not afford to let my local dealer fool around with it at $85.00 per hour. We live on a lake and have a number of boats. I am new to Iboats, and am hoping to stem the cash flow to the boats. Its kind of add, it always starts the first time, and sometimes all day while boating. But mostly, it will require much cranking of the motor to re-start after the initial start. Any ideas?
Dennis.

jerryjerry05

Supreme Mariner
Re: 1989 merc force spark loss

Since your new!!! Get a compression tester and inline spark checkers.
Just holding the plug against a ground you can blow the pack.
Some auto parts stores loan tools(comp tester),the sparkies are about 6-20 bucks.
Jumping the solenoid should make no difference in the spark.
Install the sparkies when it does it again.Making sure it really is a no spark problem.
Check for loose connections on both terminals.
I'd start with changing the hoses and clean the carb and rebuild the fuel pump.Just to make sure!
New plugs?
Profile?Location?You might be close to someone who can help.

rainman01

Cadet