Newby to PWC's and the forum!! Yamaha FX and VX oil change howto?

Ga Farmer

Cadet
Hi!

Another newby here! A little about me...I am a life long mechanic have worked on everything from aircraft to weedeaters! I am a farmer for fun and a locomotive engineer by trade. I live in the Atlanta Ga area. I have cars, several trucks, a single axel dump truck, 2 tractors, a few motorcycles, a 24 ft regal boat with an I/O volvo penta (with an engine alignment problem...)and now 2 Yamaha 4 stroke wave runners. I have learned many tricks and tips over the years and would be very happy to help any member of this forum. In other words I expect to earn my keep.

I do have a question...What is the proper procedure to change the oil in an 06 fx 140 and an 07 vx? I have the vacuume oil sucker that I have used on my boat and 7.3 F350 I understand that I need the service manuel, and intend to purchase one soon. Anybody know where I can pick one up cheep? I would love to be able to download one even cheeper!! I did search first and maybe i'm not looking in the right place. There seems to be a LOT of great people here that have a LOT of knowledge that they share..

Thanks in advance for any help!

Wendell

Ernest T

Petty Officer 1st Class
Re: Newby to PWC's and the forum!! Yamaha FX and VX oil change howto?

PM me your email address and I'll see if I can help you out with the service manuals.

As to the oil change: both the FX and the VX use the same MR1 engine, although it does not look the same. Both use a dry sump oil system, so there are some very important differences in dealing with the oil system on these skis. In fact, probably the biggest mistake made is overfilling the oil on these skis.