Thinking about replacing my outboard

swick

Petty Officer 1st Class
Hey guys. So for the past 3 years I've learned more than I wanted to about my outboard, 99 Force 120. Needless to say, I'm still learning. Thank God for fish today cause I think I was only running on 3 cylinders, not certain, but I'd risk the bet. So when pulling the boat onto the trailer I met an old guy who recommended his mechanic. This got me thinking, I could call the guy and pay him for a diagnosis and fix it when i have time, or I can start finally shopping for a better motor and quit all the headache. So here's the question(s), if i buy a new outboard, can I use all the current cables, steering and whatnot? Or do I have to buy new steering cables and throttle etc?

I've never put an outboard on before, also wondering if I should check craigslist for cheap boats and just buy the whole thing and swap the motors? Not looking to break the bank, so either I repair my engine, again, or find a reasonable replacement and figure out what it will cost to put it on.

Frank Acampora

Supreme Mariner
Re: Thinking about replacing my outboard

Your 99 Force uses Mercury controls and cables so if you stick with a Merc outboard you should be able to re-use the controls.

However, unless your Force is completely trashed, I would recommend repairing your engine over buying an unknown engine. Repairs are easy and relatively inexpensive (compared to buying another engine in good condition)--that is, if you do the work yourself.

BonairII

Commander

Diagnose the problem before you start looking for another motor. Losing a cylinder could be as simple as a bad spark plug/wire. If you have a service manual, you should be able to fix most things yourself.

I literally knew nothing about outboards last year. With my service manual and the folk here at iboats...I'm now fairly proficient at working on my motor.

swick

Petty Officer 1st Class