Another wiring question

Folsomfishing

Recruit
Hi everyone, I have a wiring question and I have read all the stickies and done a considerable amount of research but I cant find a definitive answer to my problem and Im no electrician (at all) Here's the situation, I recently acquired a 1988 Wahoo with a 85hp Force outboard. The boat has a 2 battery setup, 1 for the motor and 1 for the accessories. The boat also came with a Perko (1, 2, both, off) and a Newmar 1-2-70 isolator. The wiring was a mess and most of the accessories and other wiring was disconnected when I got it. I have since removed all of the old broken accessories (fish finder, CB) and Im ready to put in my new fish finder and trolling motor. I have 3 questions on this before I re-wire this

1. I have seen/heard 2 different ways to wire the batteries, motor, isolator and switch. One has the batteries connected to the switch and the switch connected to the isolator (http://order.waytekwire.com/INC/Marine Bat Iso 180119A.pdf). The other had the batteries connected to the switch and the isolator directly connected to the batteries as well (as it was when I got the boat). What is the correct way to hook this all back together?

2. I also want to add a third battery as the trolling motor Im getting is 24v so I'll need 2 batteries to run this. Does that affect the wiring on question #1 (aside from connecting the 2 deep cycle batteries in series)?

3. Since Im not electrician the isolator seems to complicate things quite a bit, is it really needed?

Any help would be VERY appreciated!

Silvertip

Supreme Mariner
Re: Another wiring question