Is a 2000 Cobalt 272 bowrider good for the Gulf of Mexico?

Black Pearl94

Recruit
I'm new to the ocean boating world and would like some opinions on if using a 27' Cobalt bowrider with a single engine about 1 to 3 miles from shore on the Gulf of Mexico off the Florida coast is a good idea?

Thanks for any help!

Black Pearl94

Slow Ride

Petty Officer 2nd Class
Re: Is a 2000 Cobalt 272 bowrider good for the Gulf of Mexico?

1 to 3 miles is hardly "ocean boating." The bow of your boat is not very tall and therefore you may take a few waves over the bow, even on a good day. However, if you pick your days you should be able to do 1 to 3 miles with little problem. I have been further in smaller boats but they were desiged for rough water. Just be careful and don't take any chances out there.

tpenfield

Staff member

I'm new to the ocean boating world and would like some opinions on if using a 27' Cobalt bowrider with a single engine about 1 to 3 miles from shore on the Gulf of Mexico off the Florida coast is a good idea?

Thanks for any help!

Black Pearl94

What could possibly go wrong??? ;)

A particular boat is more geared to the type of boating and the conditions, rather than any particular body of water. Bowriders in general are less preferable in high wave or chop conditions, but some folks do it. I generally refer to bowriders as 'lake' boats, but that is just me.

The problems that you encounter with ocean boating is related to 'fetch' and the distance that wave action has to develop as wind/weather conditions change throughout the day. Lakes generally have less fetch, but bodies like the Great Lakes are basically fresh water oceans, and they can get some awesome waves.

If you are concerned about being far from shore with a single engine, then maybe something with twin engines might be a better choice, but the $$$$ go up.

Home Cookin'

Fleet Admiral

no. you are in too close and might run aground.