Replacing aerator...do I just knock the thing through?

jgregory01

Seaman
My aerator just died. It gets juice, because the whole thing gets hot, but does not spin or take in water. It is an Attwood 500gph #4108 which is no longer made. I read other posts so I will not ask about the intake diameter stuff, I know they are difference sizes now.

Is there a chance that there is something stopping the impeller? Can I take a water hose to the intake valve, at the transom and force water into it and possibly free the impeller?

If I have to replace it, I am not an electrician and I am not very well versed in electronics. I have attached some pictures of my current set up as a reference.

For removing my current aerator, can I just tap it out with a rubber mallet or is there some retaining nut that I cannot see. I removed the retaining plastic nut that is on the outside of the intake pipe. It screws on and rests against the transom. When I removed it I figured the aerator would come out without much difficulty but no doing. Is it being held on with sealant and that is all? I can see some kind of white soft caulk looking sealent between the unit and the transom. It can barely be seen in the attached photo.

Second...the wiring. Can I just cut the brown/black wire from the original unit and connect the new wires without problems? I have shrink tubing and a heat gun. There is a nest of wires that are set behind other piping that I would prefer not to deal with. The photo is attached.

I guess that is about all I have. Thanks.

2012-01-30_14-50-04_278.jpg

2012-01-30_14-54-27_103.jpg

Silvertip

Supreme Mariner
Re: Replacing aerator...do I just knock the thing through?