Help with buying new boat

basstender10.6

Petty Officer 2nd Class
Hello,
I am new to inflatables and ribs and am in need of some advice. I am looking to buy an inflatable from 11'-14' with either 15 or 25hp. I have looked at the sea eagle 14sr and many other boats. Does anyone know if sea eagle boats are good quality and if there are any brands to stay away from. Also, when buying a used boat how do you check for leaks? I want a boat that I can pull a tube behind. Do any of these boats have the transom strength to pull a tube or knee boarder?
Thanks

Sea Rider

Supreme Mariner
Re: Help with buying new boat

Sea Eagle uses plastic moulded floorboards on their 10"6, 12"6 and 14" Sport Runabout series, don't want to be mean with this brand, but their floors cracks around keel valve with time and use, have 2 in our shop for same causes, the floor lacks rigidity compared to wooden or alum panel floors. Would stay away if thinking to use in open seas, coastal cruises. Saturn, Mercury are well priced alternatives.

If possible buy new, sometimes buying used could be a pandora surprise box costly repair. If budget permits buy at least a 380 rib instead of a sib and a trailer, will handle nicely a 25 HP horse perfect for towing.

Happy Boating

basstender10.6

Petty Officer 2nd Class

Thanks so much. When I started to look at the prices I started to realize that sea eagle boats can not be the same quality of a Zodiac or Avon. I already have a trailer so that would not be a problem. I am looking to spend under $2,500 on the whole package, so used will most likely be the answer.

Sea Rider

Supreme Mariner

The price difference is mostly due to the fabric employed, Sea Eagle and standard Zodiac's are PVC, Avon is Hypalon, more costier, better material if sib will be living on water all year round. Good luck on your search for a engine/sib/rib combo on a tight budget.

Happy Boating

M9.9

Petty Officer 2nd Class

Hi OP and all,