New to me old boat??

Newken

Cadet
kens1.jpg

Ahoy!
I recently acquired this boat, i have no idea what it is, but i am sure i can fix it up. I am in the process of tearing out everything, I am sure that the stringers need to be replaced. I am new to all off this so I expect to have issues and questions, and any suggestions or tips would be welcomed and appreciated.
Kens 002.jpg

boatnut74

Lieutenant Commander
Re: New to me old boat??

Welcome to iboats Newken! Looks like you are going along well with your demo. I would be sure to check the transom as well if your deck and stringers are rotten. There's a good chance the transom is rotten as well.

ezmobee

Supreme Mariner

Make sure you have all the registration/title paperwork in order before you go spending money on it.

Newken

Cadet

Hi guys,
Thanks for the suggestions, this boat was given to me, apparently there is an ownership that the guy can't find at the moment but he is looking for it. Right now it's a demo project because i have nothing but time, but i will not be spending anything until i have it registered.

Newken

Cadet

Wow! Day one of project deconstruct finished. All that rotten floor is gone.
Kens 016.jpg

I've checked the transom, it seems solid to me but there is some rot where the wood is exposed.Kens 013.jpg

Woodonglass

Supreme Mariner

That plate is a Great indicator that the transom is rotten. It is NOT supposed to be on the boat. It was place on there along with the additional wood to reinforce the factory rotten transom. You should be prepared to replace the transom.

Newken

Cadet

That plate is a Great indicator that the transom is rotten. It is NOT supposed to be on the boat. It was place on there along with the additional wood to reinforce the factory rotten transom. You should be prepared to replace the transom.

I did wonder about that. Thanks for the heads up!

oops!

Supreme Mariner

Hi guys,