Fuel tank access on older KW boat

BryanR

Seaman Apprentice
How does one perform a fuel tank flush on a built in tank?

Does the 1995 Key West 15 have a way to remove and replace fuel tank without cutting into the floor? Just curious.

oops!

Supreme Mariner
Re: Fuel tank access on older KW boat

not likely my friend.

most belly tanks are in there for good.

as far as a flush.....why do you think you need one?

BryanR

Seaman Apprentice

Frankly, I have no idea. I bought the boat last weekend and its having a bimini installed this week. Will pick up Sat. But, even though I looked over the boat as thoroughly as I knew to do being a novice, I anticipate having to do a few things to it. Was thinking a 17 yr old tank may not be in the best shape, but it may be just fine. Its got a 4 stroke, so dont think oil has ever been in there.

Was just thinking ahead. I operate under the philosophy that when in doubt, do it. :)

Going to check all the fuel lines too and replace where needed.

oops!

Supreme Mariner

before you jump into the tank...

may i suggest an inlne filter right at the tank......this will tell you if you have contaminants or not

robert graham

Admiral

Also install a fuel/water separator type cartridge filter(Walmart/Attwood $27), easy, 2 screw install on transom. Then check/dump/replace often at first to try and get an idea of water or debris in tank. I just unscrew mine, dump it in a clean container, screw it back on, prime and ride! Double check/clean your motor-mounted(under cowl) fuel filter. Start using Stabil or Seafoam in your fuel tank. No need to cut deck to remove/replace tank unless totally necessary! Good Luck!:)

Home Cookin'

Fleet Admiral

well since you haven't seen it...my 1988 KeyWest5 has a removeable floor section over the tank, which was all well and good except once when I had to replace it (leaking) we found that it could not be removed except by chopping up the tank. The replacement tank is removable, sort of.

robert graham