Is fuel injection a good thing on these VP powered boats?

MNBrent

Seaman Apprentice
Just looking for tribal knowledge is opinions of fuel injection on the marine motors.

I'm an electrical engineer and surely understand EFI much better than the carbs. Just haven't worked as much with carbs to fully appreciate the finer aspects of tuning them correctly. I can read a book, but carb tuning seems a hands on experiment with a finite bit of science behind it! :)

Don S

Honorary Moderator Emeritus
Re: Is fuel injection a good thing on these VP powered boats?

EFI on boats is basically the same as on cars in regard to advantages and disadvantages. Being an electrical engineer doesn't help either. The problem is not so much understanding it, as it is in how to fix it.
With EFI, if you don't have the diagnostic tools, the manuals and the skills to use them, and it breaks. then you will have to find a tech to fix it. Just as if you had a carbed engine.
There is nothing in the marine ECM that is re-programmable like the automotive side. No fancy race "Chips" you can throw at it.

bnicov

Petty Officer 1st Class

The EFI engines tend to make more power out of the same amount of cubic inches because they run more efficiently, that said, without the proper diagnostic tools and the manuals, it's difficult to even know where to begin. With a carbureted engine, with the manual you can usually figure out the issue and rebuild the carburetor yourself with the proper rebuild kit and some mechanical skill. I like the simplicity of a carb, that's just me.

Outsider

Lieutenant Junior Grade

I ran carbed engines of various pedigree for over 40 years. I bought my first fuel injection 10 years ago, and haven't had a start problem since. I'll quit before going back to a carb if EFI is available for the horse power desired ... ;)

E4ODnut

Seaman