20' proline paint job

I just registered on iboats and im looking for some help..I have a 1978 20' proline which i have re done the entire floor on, stringers and all..Now I have starting painting the hull..I sanded the old paint off and I have since given the hull above the water line one coat of rustoleum spray can paint (dark blue).. Of course like most I am working on a budget and my friend has painted a few boats with the spray on rustoleum with some success.. However some scratches still show up on the paint and I am already planning on perhaps re painting it next year as I am extremely anxious to get it on the water..Im new to boats and this is the first fiberglass work i have ever done and any advice or tips on painting over the rattle can paint would be extremely appreciated..I know it will require some sanding but my questions are..wet/dry sand? what grit sand paper? how to repair the scratches so they dont show up on the paint again? best way to protect the paint so it doesn't fade? I have done research and seen that some people have painted their boats with a roll on rustoleum paint and this is all new to me..please help!! lol

also...any tips on repairing some cracks on the console would help too...as with the hull i have the same questtions/concerns with the console...

thx in advance

bear_69cuda

Commander
Re: 20' proline paint job

Welcome to iboats,

I've heard rustoleum oil base paint with added hardener, then using roll and tip method may be more efficient/durable than rattle cans.

So the boat was painted previously and not gel-coated?

Pictures of everything you're describing would be very helpful as well...

I also suggest trying the search tool... Tons and tons of information to help better answer questions...

Woodonglass

Supreme Mariner
Re: 20' proline paint job