96 Evinrude 112 SPL Winterization

tkdunn

Seaman
This is my first year of boat ownership. I'm unsure of what steps are necessary to winterize my boat. I've read through other threads but some of the terminology is new to me since I've never done this before. I run star-tron in the gas on a regular basis. I last took the boat out on Thanksgiving. It is about 1/2-3/4 full of gas. Will the star-tron keep the gas from going bad and/or keep the water out?

I've looked online at different fogging oils, crc makes a can that has a tube that goes on the maintenance port. Is the maintenance port the valve with the red cap for the choke? I know that you can also spray fogging oil into the carburetors with the engine running. I know nothing about carburetors, I assume when you advance the throttle the plates will open and allow me to spray in the oil? I believe you also remove the spark plugs and spray fogging oil into the cylinders. Do you start the engine after this step?

I purchased this boat used and the gear oil was changed in late July. There didn't appear to be any water in the oil at that time but I also don't know the history of the motor. Do I need to change the oil now or just check for water? I assume the oil needs to be changed once a season.

Sorry to have rambled on. If someone could please tell me what order to do the winterization steps in I'd greatly appreciate it. Also, what products do you recommend? I am familiar with automotive repair and maintenance but marine is a new beast for me. In springtime, will I just need to start the engine and burn off the fogging oil? I obviously know for all of the above that I need to have a flusher hooked to the motor.

Thanks!

tkdunn

Seaman
Re: 96 Evinrude 112 SPL Winterization

Anyone? I picked up a can of stabil fogging oil tonight and will likely be winterizing this weekend. Any advice is greatly appreciated.

Chris1956

Supreme Mariner