What's a decent not too expensive motorboat?

swells

Recruit
Hello, I'm interested in buying a motorboat with the indoor house thing, and challenge the rough waters of the Atlantic. I'm completely new to this and need some advice. Which brands of boats should I look for and which ones should I avoid? I'm looking for a small boat, for two or three people. how much would I need to spend?
Also I don't have a trailer so I would need it to be Parked by the water.

Does GPS work in the ocean? Where do I go to get the real big ocean swells?

thanks,

smokeonthewater

Fleet Admiral
Re: What's a decent not too expensive motorboat?

Welcome to iboats.......lol... if this is a serious question you need to just stop here.... unless your idea of a "small boat for 2 or 3 people" is 300 feet "small boat" plus "real big ocean swells" = meat suit in lion's cage

GPS = GLOBAL Positioning System.... yes it works anywhere on the globe

roscoe

Supreme Mariner

Welcome.

GPS will not work IN the ocean, but will work ON the ocean.

Most boats that are trailerable, come with a trailer.
Trailerable boats are generally under 26 or 28' in length.
A boat that size requires a serious truck to tow it.

Really big swells in the ocean? Check out the Bering sea.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=axW2XUhrjbo&feature=related

"indoor house thing" , to live aboard? or for a weekend trip?
For 2-3 people?

Not too expensive? A relative term. What is too expensive for me, is a drop in the bucket for someone else.

$10,000 or $200,000 tell us your budget.

No offense, but you really should get your feet wet before buying a boat. And take a Coast Guard boating course for sure.

soggy_feet

Senior Chief Petty Officer

I pray that this is an April fools joke months too early.