Help needed choosing a trolling motor

Revica

Cadet
I recently purchased a 1996 Bass Tracker Pro Tournament modified-v. The boat has a 75 hp Mercury on it, and a 42lb thrust Minn Kota All Terrain bow mount on the front. I used the boat several times and I wanted to upgrade the trolling motor. My wife surprised me for Christmas with a 70lb thrust Minn Kota Powerdrive V2 54 inch shaft. There was an issue with delivery, so I don't have it in hand yet. Before I get it, I still have a chance to change motors(with the wife's blessing of course), so I have some questions.
The old trolling motor had a 36 inch shaft, is the new 54 inch shaft too long, is it adjustable down from 54. Any opinions on the model, ive read about the electric steer turning much slower than cable steer, is it really that much slower?
I am new to the boating community, any feedback would be greatly appreciated! Thanks in advance!

JDA1975

Lieutenant
Re: Help needed choosing a trolling motor

there is a latch on the front of the shaft that allows you to raise/lower it in the water, if your old 36" shaft would reach the waterline fine, then this may be overkill, but will work it will just have the head a little higher off the deck. If you have the option to change it, and the v2 is the one you want, the shortest length offered is 48" so wont make a lot of difference

Revica

Cadet

Thanks for the info JDA! I don't know if I want The v2 for sure, figured I would ask some people with experience in the area, maybe discover some good and bad points of some of the models.

JDA1975

Lieutenant

Since the shaft is adjustable in length, it doesn't hurt to be a little longer than needed, just don't drop it all the way, one thing I also noticed about the V2 70lb models they are 24V, not sure if your current motor is 12 or 24, but may play a factor, if it is 12, you could rewire it for 24, there are a few good threads on it in this forum

Silvertip

Supreme Mariner