Need Some Help, Restoring a 87' Ebbtide Fish & Ski

Antihero27

Cadet
Hi Guys, great forum you guys have here, and I'm hoping someone here can help me....Please

I recently aquired a free boat,(cant beat "free") 87'Ebttide Fish & Ski, and I've decided to restore. Its Blue and white with metalic flake on top. I just finished the motor work, Evinrude 140 V4 and its checked out in good shape after 400 dollars. I've moved on the the hull, which is where I'm having some probelms. I decided to wetsand the gelcoat. It has some serious oxidation and having read here its the right course of action....or maybe not. My plan was to use 800 grit, followed by 1000 grit followed by 3M Rubbing Compound, followed by 3M Finesse-It II, and finally wax. I started playing around with it using 800 grit and it seems to be doing a good job. On the solid color areas it worked magic, however on the metallic flake portion it still looks dingy and yellow. Can I go lower in grit? How low can you go, before I remove all the gelcoat?

In advance Thank You...

I'll post some pictures in the coming days.

giericd

Petty Officer 2nd Class
Re: Need Some Help, Restoring a 87' Ebbtide Fish & Ski