MFG Carefree floor

Lebowski

Recruit
I have been following as best I can the thread on removing the floor on a mid 70's Carefree. I just picked one up and have explored the floor behind the seats forward of the transom. It has two herringbone ribs glassed in place at angles sloping to move water to the drain hole . My question is , what material is just below the inner fiber glass and the outer hull right behind seats and forward of the transom , and aprox. how thick is it?
If someone has already dissected one the information would be priceless.
Thanks for any feedback.

sphelps

Supreme Mariner
Re: MFG Carefree floor

Welcome Lebowski!

I am pretty new to iboats also but have learned many things in a short amount of time. Reading from other threads I think it may be wood sandwiched between glass. Carefully drill small hole just into rib and inspect shavings . If it,s wet and mushy it should be replaced .
The guys here have tons of helpful advice to share!
Good luck!

Jon Sob

Master Chief Petty Officer

Welcome to iboats Lebowski ..... I think if you were to post your question and some pictures in the boat restoration/building section you will probably get a better response to your question. Good luck with your project. Take a look at this .... might help. http://forums.iboats.com/showthread.php?t=410147

Lebowski

Recruit

Thank you both for your advise.
I was hoping to get one of the folks who had previously written they were working on a Carefree to give a definitive answer on that hull. I understand there are many ways to skin the preverbal cat, but maybe someone has seen This "Cat".
I will post a pic as soon as I can , but has no one who has posted here about restoring a carefree actually laid eyes on this part of the hull/deck?
Respectfully,
Lebowski

sphelps

Supreme Mariner

Lebow,
Most of these "cat,s" are on boat restore forum. If you plan on fixing anything on hull start thread over there with lots of pics..
You should get plenty response .;)

Jon Sob