1999 Force by Mercury - starting problem

JD Stanley

Recruit
I am the third owner of this 1999 Nitro sport 185 boat. My current problem has lingered since last year. I replaced the battery mid summer last year and the boat ran well this spring. It currently does not have enough crank to turn over and the battery tested at 1070 CCA. I found a September 3, 2008 post form "Spinkick" with similar problem that should help me with most of the diagnostics. Question 1: The engine required apx. 650 CCA to start. If I replace that battery with a 1000 CCA battery could I be causing the damage to the starter or starter solenoid? Question 2: If I can not identify the problem by the time the weather shuts me down, can I fog the boat using the pull cord and store it safely for the winter? I am fairly new at boat maintenance and all information will be helpful. Thank you

I tried the battery in the S10 and it started right up. I place the battery back in the boat and it barely turned over. Not enough to start. I tried pull starting the engine but cut only pull 1-2 rotations. I am not sure how easily the motor should pull using the rope! If I pull the plugs then pull the motor with the rope, will that tell me anything?

My brother is going to test the resistance in the cables and starter when he has a chance! I did replace the water pump in the spring but the boat ran fine until I had to remove the throttle to repair a cut trim wire! Thanks again!

mercman2

Seaman
Re: 1999 Force by Mercury - starting problem

No on both questions, thats the minimum CCA's required. It sounds like your starter may be getting a little week.

roscoe

Supreme Mariner

Yes you can fog with the recoil rope.

Then remove the plugs and spray into the cylinders.

Probably half of all small outboards are never winterized, because people don't know any better, or are lazy.

Any amount of fogging oil is better than none.

jerryjerry05

Supreme Mariner