1965 Evinrude Big Twin 40HP (40502A or 3A)

Mullerhawk

Seaman Apprentice
Hi,

I am about to pull the trigger on a 1965 Evinrude Big Twin 40HP for about $60. The engine is in unknown condition. But since its been running in freshwater there should be no big issues with corrosion (looks quite good). The engine is a manual start with tiller handle. Only thing I know about the motor is a vague picture and some information that the carburator is in a bag on the side. So - from looking on marineengine.com and searching for different standard parts everything seems to still be available to order (like impellers, head gaskets, thermostats etc.)

Im not a complete newbe when it comes to engines. I have renovated a couple of 15hp 1985-87 engines without any big hassle. But my questions to you are what I should I lookout for before buying this engine?! Any knows problems that might cause this engine to be unrenovatable?

Another couple of question while I am at it:

- Whats the approx weight of the engine? (much heavier compared to a 15HP 85-87?)
- 40HP with rope start seems very heavy to start - anyone got experience about this engine with manual start?

// Mike

Mas

Lieutenant Commander
Re: 1965 Evinrude Big Twin 40HP (40502A or 3A)

See if you can test compression before buying...but for $60, you've got your money back in parts/scrap.

I'm guessing about 125 lbs.

Pull start a 40hp? Get her tuned up really good and buy a good pair of gloves. A poor starting pull start will kill your hands and shoulder!

Mas

Gas Giant

Petty Officer 1st Class

See if you can test compression before buying...but for $60, you've got your money back in parts/scrap.

I'm guessing about 125 lbs.

Pull start a 40hp? Get her tuned up really good and buy a good pair of gloves. A poor starting pull start will kill your hands and shoulder!

Mas