Tunnel Hull cavitation questions

Kingtom

Recruit
I'm new to power boats and we pick up a 17' 2002 McKee Craft Backwater with Yamaha 90 2 stroke last year.
The boat has what's called a tunnel hull and the boat motor seems to run free or what I call cavitate when turning or when engine is not trimmed enough. This is really bothersome and performance is poor in my opinion. Any explanations out there and recommendations ?

Thanks

Texasmark

Supreme Mariner
Re: Tunnel Hull cavitation questions

My 2C: Tunnel hulls were designed to get you up (on plane) and out of shoal areas where water may only be 1 foot or less. That means that the prop is deliberately sitting high in the water and the sides of the tunnel cause disturbances in front of the prop especially if not going straight ahead.

Additionally, they have jack plates whereby you jack up the engine to get through the shallow spots and when you are clear of them you drop the engine down, getting the whole prop in the water, to perform in the wind blown waters that you have to go through getting to and from the "flats".

A cupped 3 blade prop, or a cupped 4 bladed prop would be your best bet in my opinion.

I wouldn't expect a flats boat (tunnel-hull) to perform like an ordinary hull because it's not.

HTH,

Mark

steelespike

Supreme Mariner

Its called ventilation. Most boats require you to trim down when turning.
With the tunnel prop selection and motor setup are critical.
Please read "read this first"at the top of the page get us as much info as possible.
Your present prop size should be near the base of the blades or under the prop nut.

nwcove

Admiral

just curious, but are you running a surfacing prop set up.ie high perfomance?

mommicked

Lieutenant Commander

I've seen a few of these Mckee tunnel boats and I like them. They look like great fishing machines w a V hull for big water, and the rounded tunnel for shallow running.

Texasmark

Supreme Mariner