trolling motor size

junkman41

Petty Officer 1st Class
hello, I just got my 24' pontoon, I want to get a trolling motor over the winter, but I am not sure what size to get. some people told me 55Lb 12 volt with 52 inch shaft will work fine, others told me not to get anything less than 70 lb thrust 24 volt. I'm new to pontoons,

newbie4life

Chief Petty Officer
Re: trolling motor size

I have a 20' pontoon, with a 40 hp yamaha. On it, I put my 80 lb thrust 24v from my boat. Wide open speeds, it will move it about 4-5 mph for 2 hrs (slowing to 2 or 3 mph for the last hour until she poops out.) on a flat calm with 6 adults and one kiddo on board. It's big enough, but if I were to buy based on my experience, I would probably get the 101 lb. Don't get me wrong -- I'm not disappointed with my 80 lb, just would like to have a little more if possible. We use our trolling motor more than we use the outboard. We LOVE the quietness of it, and at 50% throttle, it moves us along quite well for almost 4 hours or so.

Silvertip

Supreme Mariner

What do you intend to use the troller for is the information we need in order to provide a reasonable response. If you slow troll (lower speeds) for hours at a time, then one of the digital motor in a 55# (Minnkota PowerDrive for example) will be fine if you typically operate on calm water and don't have a lot of wind to deal with. If you use this for emergency propulsion then you want something bigger and that puts you in 24 or 36 volt territory. If you troll at faster speeds in windy conditions or rivers with high current you need a 24 or 36 volt motor. My 20 footer with a 55# Minnkota was very acceptable on large but calm water, and in a 2 mph river current for position fishing and slow trolling.

mjc3834merc

Petty Officer 2nd Class