1953 Elgin 5.5 Mixture Screw Measurements Needed - Making one myself

docmiata

Recruit
Gentlemen

I need a fuel mixture screw for a 1950's Elgin 5.5 hp twin. Can't seem to find one, so I'm going to make one.
I am a machinist, so what I really need is someone with one of these engines to measure up his/her mixture screw and send me the
dimensions, particularly the needle end, of course. I can make it myself easier than I can find one...Anyone up for the task?

See attached photo for specifics.

Thanks in advance for anyone's help.

Attachments

• Elgin mix screw.JPG
    Elgin mix screw.JPG
    50.9 KB · Views: 0

F_R

Supreme Mariner
Re: 1953 Elgin 5.5 Mixture Screw Measurements Needed - Making one myself

Can't you just measure the one in the picture? Or do you only have the picture, no motor? I can probably pull one out and measure it if you are serious.

EDIT: Evinrude part number 276915 will probably work. But I can't guarantee the outer (knob) end will be the right length. Probably too long. www.marineengine.com has 10+ in stock.

Attachments

• Carburetor Exploded View.jpg
    Carburetor Exploded View.jpg
    121.4 KB · Views: 0

1946Zephyr

Vice Admiral

Those old Elgins (built by West Bend Aluminum) typically used a Tillotson carb, which also can be found on the old Evinrudes, prior to 1954 and on the old Scotts. If you can, find a number on it and try searching through these other brand of outboards too.

docmiata

Recruit

Thanks for both of your replies - I'll look into the Evinrude part. The carb is a Tillotson MD57B. I'm looking for a spare, but am frustrated since I know I could make one for $5 on my lathe if I knew the specifics of the needle end....

I appreciate your both weighing-in

1946Zephyr

Vice Admiral