Bravo I losing gear lube - but where??

jimkari

Cadet
I have a '95 Bryant 209 with a 7.4 Bravo I. I've been loosing gear lube slowly for a few years. I never see water in the oil and last year I pulled the drive and replaced the prop seals, the prop shaft bearing housing seal, the seal that mates the lower housing to the upper, the drain pump o-rings, the seals that go between the outdrive and the gimbal housing, as well as the seal that goes under the top cover of the shift housing. I never see any oil leaking inside the boat or out, but I seem to lose about 3/4 of the reservoir throughout the summer. I just tried pressure testing the outdrive and it's been holding a steady 12 lbs for the last two hours. I am really stumped.

Please, please share your advice.

Thanks,

Jim

boattoy

Petty Officer 2nd Class
Re: Bravo I losing gear lube - but wear??

your testing pressure without any gear oil in drive correct? if its holding pressure i would focus on everything that contains gear oil that's not in the drive. also try turning the drive with it in gear to see if it releases the pressure.

jimkari

Cadet

Thanks for the quick reply. Yep based on the advice posted on the forum, I drained the oil first and then pressure tested. I installed the lower drain plug and pressure tested through the vent hole. I did not pull the drive or block off the reservoir. I wasn't sure if it would hold pressure due to the vent in the cap, but it does. When I tried squeezing the reservoir bottle it clearly had pressure in it. I am really stumped. I know there is a chance the oil dropped due to air in the system, but that seems like a lot.

jimkari

Cadet

Also I did try spinning the prop shaft. I haven't tried turning over the engine with it in gear. I'd probably need to bypass the neutral safety.

boattoy

Petty Officer 2nd Class

Make sure it can't start. Just to eliminate the possibility of something being out of round and causing oil seal to open up a little

HT32BSX115