40 hp evinrude e tec wont run

I have been working on a 40 hp evinrude e tech and i am having problems.It will start and idle for 30 seconds or so then dies . no alarms,i checked fuel going through hose and primer and it seems to be getting good flow.Plugs look good,i was going to check compresson tommorrow and pressure out of electric pump.Any suggestions would be helful.

wilde1j

Vice Admiral
Re: 40 hp evinrude e tech wont run

Start with an OEM shop manual, a laptop and diagnostic sw.

boobie

Supreme Mariner

You'll need the above equipment to work on these newer mtrs. Aint like the old days.

Yeah i know, i'm a mechanic and am into the electronic stuff at work, but i'm trying to check the basics for my buddy and didnt know if there were any ideas before i tell him to take it to the dealer,thanks for the reply

It has ran great,no problems ,and put it away for the workweek,when we went to take it out next time about 5 days later this is what it did

boobie

Supreme Mariner

Have you tried pumping the primer bulb to see if you can keep it running?? Also look for any loose wiring on the fuel pump system. If it ran good a week ago, look for the simple and stupid things. Water in the fuel??

Haffiman

Commander

Do you hear the electric pressure pump run for a couple of seconds when ign is put 'ON'?

well i havnt got that far since the battery was dead,but today i will listen and see if i can hear it,the line is easy to get off so i might just take it off and see if i have pressure,the boat has a 20 gallon tank on it so checking for water in the tank isnt going to be easy but i could take a fresh can and try to hook up to it,thanks for the reply

Silvertip

Supreme Mariner

Your a mechanic. You have access to fuel system pressure testing equipment. Sounds like the pump runs at key-on to pressurize the system but it loses pressure after the engine starts and it then dies.

boobie

Supreme Mariner